The Weizang Chien award logo
The Wei-zang Chien Award is awarded by ICCES (International Conference on Computational & Experimental Engineering and Sciences) and the Tech Science Press to researchers who have made significant technological innovations and breakthroughs in the field of Mechanics. This Medal honors Professor Wei-Zang Chien who made seminal contributions to applied mathematics and mechanics for nearly one hundred years of his life.

Award Committee
Chair, Prof. Shaofan LiUniversity of California, Berkeley, USA

Prof. Wanlin Guo
Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China
Prof. James D. Lee
The George Washington University, USA
Prof. Guangyu Shi
Tianjin University, China
Prof. Jurica Soric
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Prof. Bo Yu
Beijing Institute of Petrochemical Technology, China

Award Recipients
2020 Recipient
Cheng Wang
Professor Cheng Wang
Beijing Institute of Technology

ICCES Citation: For distinguished contributions to the analysis and design of solids and structures under extreme loads.
Previous Recipients
wen-hua chen
Professor Wen-Hwa Chen

Tsing Hua Distinguished Chair Professor, National Tsing Hua University

ICCES Citation: For sustained contributions to computational mechanics for over 45 years, and for his unparalleled efforts in institution building at the National Tsing Hua University and at Taiwan’s National Applied Research Labs

Professor W. Pietraszkiewicz
Polish Academy of Sciences