The kobayashi award logo
The Kobayashi Award is named after Professor Albert Kobayashi (of the University of Washington), who made significant contributions to research and education in experimental mechanics, for over 50 years. This award is given to an individual, from anywhere in the world, for worthy contributions in the category of Experimental Science, in any area germane to ICCES.
Award Committee
Chair, Prof. Shaofan LiUniversity of California, Berkeley, USA

Prof. Wanlin Guo
Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China
Prof. James D. Lee
The George Washington University, USA
Prof. Guangyu Shi
Tianjin University, China
Prof. Jurica Soric
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Prof. Bo Yu
Beijing Institute of Petrochemical Technology, China

Award Recipients
2020 Recipient
Professor Ioannis Chasiotis
The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

ICCES Citation: For distinguished contributions to experimental solid mechanics.

Ioannis Chasiotis is a Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received his Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Aeronautics from the California Institute of Technology, and his Diploma in Chemical Engineering from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in Greece. Professor Chasiotis’ research focuses on the deformation and fracture mechanics of materials at small length scales. His group has developed high resolution experimental methods to study the mechanical deformation of heterogeneous materials at the micro and nanoscales, and to investigate important time and length scales influencing the inelastic behavior of metals and polymers confined to small volumes. He is the editor-in-chief of the journal Experimental Mechanics, an ASME Fellow, and in 2016 he was named a University of Illinois Scholar. Professor Chasiotis is a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the Society of Engineering Science Young Investigator Medal, the ASME Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator award, the Society for Experimental Mechanics A.J. Durelli award, the NSF-CAREER award, the ONR Young Investigator award, several journal and conference best paper awards, the Founder's Prize from the American Academy of Mechanics, and the Charles Babcock Memorial Award from the California Institute of Technology.
2019 Recipient
Dr. Qian Kemao, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

2017 Recipient
Professor Satoru Yoneyama, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan

2015 Recipient
Professor Arun Shukla, University of Rhode Island, Kingston, USA

2014 Recipient
Professor Hareesh V. Tippur, Auburn University, AL, USA

2013 Recipient
Professor Peter G. Ifju, University of Florida, USA

2012 Recipient
Professor Maria S. Konsta-Gdoutos, Democritus University of Thrace Komotini, Greece

2011 Recipient
Professor Qifeng Yu, National University of Defence Technology, Changsha, China

2010 Recipient
Prof. Cheng-Hsien Liu, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

2009  Recipient
Dr. Motoharu Fujigaki, Wakayama University, Japan