The lifetime award logo
This Medal is awarded to an individual, from anywhere in the world, for sustained and significant contributions in the form of research, teaching, and service to the community, in any area germane to the ICCES series of conferences. The sum total of contributions over a career spanning many years is taken into account. The minimum age of the recipient is expected to be 60 years, and may be given on the occasion of the celebration of any birth anniversary of the individual after the age of 60, at an ICCES conference. The conferral of this award is considered as the scientific accolade expressed on behalf of the ICCES community, for the recipient’s seminal role in the development of subject matter relevant to ICCES.

Award Committee
Chair, Prof. Shaofan LiUniversity of California, Berkeley, USA

Prof. Wanlin Guo
Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China
Prof. James D. Lee
The George Washington University, USA
Prof. Guangyu Shi
Tianjin University, China
Prof. Jurica Soric
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Prof. Bo Yu
Beijing Institute of Petrochemical Technology, China

Award Recipients
2022 Recipients
Prof. James D. Lee
Professor James D. Lee
The George Washington University Washington, DC, USA

ICCES Citation: For his continuing contributions to mechanics as Continuum Mechanics, Finite Element Analysis, Fracture Mechanics, Nanomechanics, Mechanical Vibration, Optimal Control Theory, Robotics, Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations and Linear Algebra.
CS Liu
Professor Cheinshan Liu
National Taiwan University

ICCES Citation: For his outstanding contribution to Chinese Engineering Technology, Applied Mathematics, Nonlinear Dynamical System and Friction dynamics.

2020 Recipients
Ramesh K. Agarwal
William Palm Professor of Engineering, Washington University in St. Louis

ICCES Citation: For lifetime seminal contributions to computational methods for aerospace engineering.
James C
James C. Newman, Jr.
Emeritus Giles Professor, Former Richard Johnson Chair in Aerospace Engineering, Department of Aerospace Engineering, Mississippi State University

ICCES Citation: For well-known contributions to  fatigue of aerospace structures, elastic-plastic fracture mechanics, and multi-site damage.
Guangyu Shi
Professor Guangyu Shi
Department of Mechanics, Tianjin University

ICCES Citation: For contributions to hybrid and mixed finite element methods in nonlinear and linear solid mechanics.
Gery M Wilkowski
Dr. Gery Wilkowski
P.E., President of Engineering Mechanics Corporation of Columbus

ICCES Citation: For well-known contributions to structural integrity assessments across many industries.